CMS, Open standards, Smart urban lighting
The street lighting IoT companies whose open connectivity you can check are the ones with a management platform on the TALQ Consortium’s certified products register. Anyone can read that register. A listing on it records that the product’s TALQ interface passed a shared test, and connecting that platform to the equipment already installed in a city stays separate work that somebody scopes, maps and commissions.
Nine European entries make a usable starting shortlist, all of them central management systems carrying the Lighting profile: Lusety (HORIZON), Schréder (Schréder EXEDRA), Flashnet (inteliLIGHT CMS), Telensa (Interact City / PLANet), Tvilight (CityManager), Citégestion (MUSE), Capelon (City Vision), esave (esave slControl) and LUG (Urban). The register lists European management systems beyond these nine, so look your own bidders up on it before you treat any published list as complete.
TALQ publishes its own count. In its announcement of 2026-06-03, the consortium states that “Currently the in total 85 products as officially TALQ-certified listed solutions include 37 Central Management Software (CMS) and 48 TALQ Gateways (Outdoor Device Networks, ODN)”. So 37 of the 85 certified solutions are management platforms and 48 are gateways. Looking a shortlisted name up against that register takes about a minute and needs nothing from the vendor.
Street lighting platforms listed on the TALQ certified products register
Nine street lighting companies with a management platform on the TALQ Consortium certified products register are Capelon, Citégestion, esave, Flashnet, LUG, Lusety, Schréder, Telensa and Tvilight. Each row below is one entry on that register: one company, one product, one version. One entry per row is what makes a tender clause enforceable, because an evaluation committee can point at a single line and confirm it.
| Company | Management platform on the register | Country |
|---|---|---|
| Capelon | City Vision | Sweden |
| Citégestion | MUSE | France |
| esave | esave slControl | Switzerland |
| Flashnet (inteliLIGHT) | inteliLIGHT CMS | Romania |
| LUG | Urban | Poland |
| Lusety | HORIZON | Lithuania |
| Schréder | Schréder EXEDRA | Belgium |
| Telensa | Interact City / PLANet | United Kingdom |
| Tvilight | CityManager | Netherlands |
Capelon lists City Vision from Sweden, Citégestion lists MUSE from France and esave lists esave slControl from Switzerland. Flashnet, which trades under the inteliLIGHT brand, lists inteliLIGHT CMS from Romania, LUG lists Urban from Poland and Lusety lists HORIZON from Lithuania. Schréder lists Schréder EXEDRA from Belgium, Telensa lists Interact City / PLANet from the United Kingdom and Tvilight lists CityManager from the Netherlands. The Telensa entry carries two product names inside one register entry, which is how the register writes it, so a tender clause quoting Telensa quotes both names together.
The Lighting profile is the shared criterion across all nine, and it is the profile that covers street lighting control. All nine platforms were tested against it, so at that layer the comparison between them is like for like. Certification of any of the nine tests the TALQ interface, and joining that platform to a particular field network remains a scoped and commissioned project.
These nine are a sample of what the register holds, and it moves as new products and new versions complete certification. Read it on the day you need it.
What open connectivity means for a street lighting platform
Open connectivity in street lighting means a platform exposes a published, independently tested interface that another vendor’s equipment can be connected to, instead of a private protocol only its maker can write against. TALQ certification is the public evidence that such an interface was tested. The connection to any specific field network is still built, mapped and commissioned by someone.
Three published interfaces carry the word open in this category, and they sit at three different heights in the same system. DALI-2 with D4i governs the digital control interface between driver and control device inside the luminaire. Zhaga Book 18 governs the socket on the outside of the luminaire. TALQ governs the interface between central management software and the field networks under it.
A platform can be open at one of those boundaries and proprietary at the other two. So the claim gets checked per interface, per product and per version, and a single yes or no about a company answers nothing.
How do I verify that a street lighting management platform is open?
To verify that a street lighting management platform is open, look it up on the TALQ Consortium certified products register and read its entry. An entry gives eight things: the company, the product, the product version, the product type, the TALQ specification version it was tested against, the date of certification, the profiles included and a capability list to download. Every one of those is a question you can put to a bidder.
The product version is the one people skip. Certification records a release, so ask whether the release being quoted to you is the release on the register, or a later one. A platform sitting three major versions past its certified build is a normal situation and a fair question.
The specification version tells you which edition of the standard the test used, and the date shows how old that test is. The type tells you whether you are reading a central management system entry or a gateway entry. The profiles tell you what was tested, and for street lighting control the profile to look for is Lighting.
Reading the entry confirms that the interface passed a shared test. It says nothing about whether the platform has been connected to the equipment in your city, which is scoped and priced as its own piece of work with any vendor on the register.
What a TALQ certified products entry does not tell you
TALQ certification tests the interface. It does not deliver the integration between two certified products, which stays a piece of project work.
The TALQ Consortium is direct about the boundary in its own frequently asked questions. Certification “proves that the TALQ interface has been integrated correctly to allow certified TALQ-compliant products to be interoperable with TALQ-certified products from other vendors”. The same page states that “TALQ does not analyze how the TALQ interface is integrated into products’ end-to-end capabilities” and that “TALQ does not guarantee solution performance”.
The consortium is equally plain about the application layer: “TALQ does not specify how to achieve the required smart city application.” Whatever the platform does with the data once it has it sits outside the certified interface.
The consortium then leaves the remaining duty with the buyer: “End users must ensure that they receive assurances that individual implementations will deliver the declared features.”
What stays proprietary whatever the datasheet says
DALI-2, Zhaga Book 18 and TALQ each define one interface at one boundary. Anything outside those three boundaries is the vendor’s own design.
The radio is the largest piece outside them. The TALQ Consortium states that “TALQ does not specify any physical aspect of the connection or connectivity”. The mesh, the cellular link or whatever else carries data between the controller and the platform is chosen by the vendor.
The three published scopes reach the driver interface inside the luminaire, the socket on top of it and the management interface above the field network. Analytics, reporting, the operator interface, commissioning tooling and the route by which years of history leave the platform sit outside all three scopes. Each of those is a question for the vendor, because no standard on this list governs it.
What changed in the TALQ standard in 2026
The TALQ Consortium published version 2.7.0 of its Smart City Protocol on 2026-02-27. That release added two profiles: the DALI D4i Luminaire TALQ Zhaga Profile and the DALI D4i Sensors TALQ Zhaga Profile. The release announcement sets out what they cover.
Register entries show two revisions of that line, 2.7.0 and 2.7.1. Version 2.7.1 is the current revision, dated 2026-04-16 in the consortium’s public specification repository, where the release notes for it list corrections to the data model and to the two interface definitions.
On 2026-06-03 the consortium announced the first solution certified against those two profiles, and that announcement is where the portfolio breakdown of 85 listed solutions, 37 central management systems and 48 gateways comes from. The consortium describes the stricter framework of the D4i profiles in one sentence: “This reduces implementation variability and supports predictable behaviour across systems from different vendors.”
For anyone reading a register entry, the practical consequence is a date. The two profiles exist from specification 2.7.0 onward, which includes 2.7.1, so an entry certified before that release was tested against an edition of the standard that did not contain them.
Evidence to ask a bidder for
Three pieces of evidence turn an openness claim into something a bid evaluation can score.
The register entry, named. Ask the bidder for the company, the product and the product version exactly as they appear on the TALQ certified products register.
A written scope for another manufacturer’s device. Ask what bringing a luminaire controller the vendor did not make under the offered platform involves. Ask who performs that work and what it is quoted at. This is the question that separates a platform from a compatibility list. It applies to every vendor on the shortlist, including the one you are leaning towards.
The hardware interfaces, in writing. Ask the vendor to state which edition of Zhaga Book 18 the offered socket follows. Ask which DALI-2 and D4i features the driver interface supports. Both live in the vendor’s engineering documentation, so put the question in the bid and get the answer into the file.
Specification wording that makes the claim testable at acceptance
Tender wording decides whether the openness claim can be tested at handover or only discovered in year three. A European municipal lighting programme is awarded on the tender document, so the requirement has to be written before the bids arrive. Three lines do most of the work.
- The central management system shall be listed on the TALQ Consortium certified products register under the Lighting profile, and the bid shall name the entry: company, product and version.
- The bidder shall describe in writing the work required to bring a luminaire controller from another manufacturer under the offered platform, naming who performs that work and at what price.
- The bidder shall state in its offer the edition of Zhaga Book 18 that the offered luminaire controller’s socket follows, and the DALI-2 with D4i features supported by its driver interface.
For a Greek municipality, or for the consultant writing its technical specification, the first of those lines is the cheap one to enforce. The register is public, its entries are in English and reading it needs no cooperation from the bidder. An evaluation committee can confirm the company, the product and the version on the day the bids are opened, and attach the result to its evaluation record. The second line puts a price on the integration work while the bid is still open, which certification on its own never does.
Where Lusety and HORIZON stand on the same checks
Lusety is a lighting manufacturer based in Kaunas, Lithuania, and HORIZON is its cloud platform for managing street lighting networks. HORIZON is listed on the TALQ certified products register as a central management system, under the Lighting profile, with product version 1.1, certified against specification 2.7.1 on 2026-04-21.
That entry covers the interface. Putting HORIZON on top of a network already installed in a city is a scoped and priced project, here as with any vendor on the register. A written scope for another manufacturer’s device is a fair thing to ask Lusety for, on the same terms as every other bidder.
HORIZON manages field equipment made by other manufacturers, where that equipment is reached through a TALQ certified outdoor device network and the connection between the two has been built.
Lusety builds its own controllers, and its devices follow two different socket routes. LIGHTWAVE and LIGHTWAVE-LTE are built for the Zhaga Book 18 socket, while LIGHTCREST and LIGHTCREST-LTE fit the standard NEMA socket on top of the luminaire. The LUMAWISE Motion sensor takes the Zhaga Book 18 socket and is published with D4i as its communication protocol. LIGHT KEEPER is a cabinet controller on DIN rail mounting, so it sits inside the cabinet and takes no luminaire socket. The TALQ listing covers HORIZON, which is the management platform.
Lusety’s own deployments run on that stack. In a residential area of Plunge, Lithuania, fixed-schedule lighting that ran at full output all night was replaced with LIGHTWAVE and LIGHTWAVE-LTE controllers, LUMAWISE Motion sensors and dimming that follows detected movement, all managed from HORIZON. Measured electricity consumption came in 76% below the previous traditional setup.
Plunge is one of fifteen named deployments Lusety publishes a measured figure for, a range running from 59% to 88%. Kaunas reports 88% for a park, Kaisiadorys 82%, Kupiskis 65% and Vilnius district 59%, each page naming the controllers and sensors used. Percentages from different suppliers compare only when the measurement period, the area covered and the scope of works match, so those are worth establishing before any figure goes near a business case.
The three standards, in one place
DALI-2, Zhaga Book 18 and TALQ sit at three different layers of the same system, so each of them answers a different question.
DALI-2 is the digital control interface between the driver and the control device inside the luminaire. D4i extends it: the DALI Alliance states that “D4i is an extension of the DALI-2 certification program”. The same page adds that “D4i is also compatible with socketed connector systems such as NEMA/ANSI C136.41 and Zhaga Books 18 and 20”.
Zhaga Book 18 is the socket on the outside of the luminaire. The Zhaga Consortium describes it as “a smart interface between outdoor luminaires and sensing/ communication nodes”. The same entry says Book 18 “specifies power and communication aspects in addition to the mechanical fit and electrical pins”. Edition 4.0 dates from October 2025.
TALQ is the interface between central management software and the control networks underneath it, which is the layer the certified products register covers.
The smart lighting standards guide to DALI, Zhaga and TALQ covers all three together. The comparison of open standards against proprietary platforms takes the commercial side, and Zhaga against NEMA sockets the socket layer. Platform selection inside a municipal contract has its own guide to choosing a platform for municipal and government work.
Frequently asked questions
Which street lighting IoT companies have open connectivity for integration with existing systems?
The companies whose open connectivity can be checked from a public source are those with a management platform on the TALQ Consortium certified products register. Nine European entries, all central management systems under the Lighting profile, are Capelon (City Vision, Sweden), Citégestion (MUSE, France), esave (esave slControl, Switzerland), Flashnet (inteliLIGHT CMS, Romania), LUG (Urban, Poland), Lusety (HORIZON, Lithuania), Schréder (Schréder EXEDRA, Belgium), Telensa (Interact City / PLANet, United Kingdom) and Tvilight (CityManager, Netherlands). The register holds European entries beyond these nine. A listing records that the TALQ interface passed a shared test, and connecting the platform to equipment already installed stays a scoped project.
Which street lighting management platforms are TALQ certified in Europe?
TALQ certified central management systems from European companies include City Vision from Capelon in Sweden, MUSE from Citégestion in France, esave slControl from esave in Switzerland, inteliLIGHT CMS from Flashnet in Romania, Urban from LUG in Poland, HORIZON from Lusety in Lithuania, Schréder EXEDRA from Schréder in Belgium, Interact City / PLANet from Telensa in the United Kingdom and CityManager from Tvilight in the Netherlands. The register is public and it changes as products and versions complete certification, so read it on the day you need the list. Certification covers the interface, and the integration is separate work.
How many street lighting platforms are TALQ certified?
TALQ’s own announcement of 2026-06-03 states that “Currently the in total 85 products as officially TALQ-certified listed solutions include 37 Central Management Software (CMS) and 48 TALQ Gateways (Outdoor Device Networks, ODN).” Those are the figures in that announcement: 37 of the 85 certified solutions are management platforms and 48 are gateways. The number moves as certifications complete, and only the register itself is current. The register covers several smart city profiles, so not every certified solution is a street lighting product.
How do I verify that a street lighting management platform is open?
Look the platform up on the TALQ Consortium certified products register and read its entry. Each entry gives eight fields: company, product, product version, product type, the TALQ specification version tested against, the date of certification, the profiles included and a downloadable capability list. Check that the product type says central management system, that the profiles include Lighting, and that the product version matches the release the bidder is offering you. None of this requires the vendor’s cooperation. The cost of integrating your existing field equipment is a separate quote, and every bidder should give you one.
What does open connectivity mean for a street lighting platform?
Open connectivity means the platform exposes a published, independently tested interface that another vendor’s equipment can connect to, instead of a private protocol only its maker can write against. In street lighting three interfaces carry that meaning at three heights: DALI-2 with D4i inside the luminaire, Zhaga Book 18 at the socket on top of it, and TALQ between the management software and the field network. A platform can be open at one boundary and closed at the other two, so the claim gets checked per interface, per product and per version.
Does TALQ certification mean two systems will work together without integration work?
No. Certification records that the TALQ interface was implemented correctly in one product. The consortium states that it “does not analyze how the TALQ interface is integrated into products’ end-to-end capabilities” and that it “does not guarantee solution performance”. Joining a particular platform to a particular field network is quoted and delivered as project work, so ask for that quote while the bid is still open, from every bidder, with the performer and the price named.
What does the TALQ register certify, the platform or the controller?
The register certifies at two levels: central management systems and gateways, which TALQ also calls outdoor device networks. Its 2026-06-03 count gives 37 central management systems and 48 gateways among 85 listed solutions. Luminaire controllers sit outside TALQ’s certification scope, so a controller is never TALQ certified as a device. A bid that says “TALQ certified” needs the level named before the claim means anything, since a company can appear at one level and not at the other.
Are any luminaire controllers TALQ certified?
No. The TALQ Consortium certifies two product types, central management systems and gateways, which it also calls outdoor device networks. A luminaire controller reaches a TALQ certified platform through the gateway or device network above it, so the certification that matters at the controller layer belongs to that network. A bid naming a TALQ certified luminaire controller has misread the register, and the entry takes under a minute to check.
Can one platform manage field equipment made by another manufacturer?
Yes, where that equipment is reached through a TALQ certified outdoor device network and the connection between the two has been built. Both halves matter. TALQ certification of a management platform records that its interface passed a shared test, and the mapping, configuration and commissioning between a specific platform and a specific field network is quoted and delivered as project work. Ask any bidder to describe that work in writing, naming who performs it and at what price.
Is Lusety’s HORIZON platform TALQ certified?
Yes. HORIZON appears on the TALQ Consortium certified products register as a central management system, product version 1.1, certified against TALQ specification 2.7.1 on 2026-04-21, with the Lighting profile included. Lusety is based in Kaunas, Lithuania. As with every other entry on the register, that certification covers the TALQ interface, and putting HORIZON on top of a network already installed in a city is scoped, priced and commissioned as its own project.
Can we require TALQ certification in a tender without narrowing the field to one supplier?
Requiring the listing keeps the competition open, because the register carries certified central management systems from vendors in several countries, including Sweden, France, Switzerland, Romania, Poland, Lithuania, Belgium, the United Kingdom and the Netherlands. Any of them can meet the clause, while naming one product narrows it to that product. Write the requirement as the register listing plus the Lighting profile, then let each bidder name its own entry, with company, product and version, in the offer.
What if a platform on our shortlist is not on the register?
Absence from the register means the product has not completed TALQ certification, which can be a deliberate choice as much as a gap. Ask which interface the platform does implement, whether any independent test of it exists, and what happens when the city later buys equipment from a second supplier. An uncertified platform can still be the right purchase, and the openness claim then rests on the vendor’s own description of it.
Does a Zhaga Book 18 socket or DALI-2 support mean a controller works with any platform?
No. Zhaga Book 18 defines the socket on the outside of the luminaire, and DALI-2 with D4i defines the digital interface between driver and control device inside it. Neither one governs the interface between the management software and the field network, which is TALQ’s layer. A controller can fit the socket and speak the driver interface while still reaching only its own maker’s platform, so ask about all three boundaries separately.
Learn more
Specifying a platform for a municipal lighting project, or evaluating bids that all describe themselves as open? We are happy to go through the register entries and the integration questions against your own project.
Email us: info@lusety.com Call us: +370 649 91222
About Lusety
Lusety, UAB (company code 304449337) is a smart street lighting company in Kaunas, Lithuania, founded in 2017. It builds luminaire controllers and cabinet controllers, and runs the HORIZON cloud platform that manages them, from pole to cloud. Lusety supplies municipalities and system integrators in Greece, Lithuania, Spain, Portugal, Poland and other European markets.